US Commemorative Coins 2002 – 2003


Five Dollar Gold Coin 2002 Commemorative Salt Lake Winter Olympic Games
Winter Olympic Games Five Dollar Gold

Two coins were issued by the U.S. Mint for the 2002 Salt Lake Winter Olympic Games. The five dollar coin is 90% gold and 10% alloy and has the crystal emblem of the 2002 Winter Olympic Games over the beautiful design entitled “Rhythm of the Land” on it’s obverse. The reverse has the Olympic flame on top of a cauldron. (80,000 made)
The silver dollar coin is comprised of 90% silver and 10% alloy. On the obverse it portrays the Crystal Emblem as well as the classic Olympic rings and the “Rhythm of the Land” design. It’s reverse has the beautiful Rocky Mountains in the backdrop, superimposed by the Salt Lake City skyline. (400,000 made)
The bicentennial of West Point Military Academy was commemorated with a silver dollar coin. The obverse  shows Washington Hall in the background, along with Cadet Chapel. At the forefront is a parade of cadets.  The reverse shows the logo for the U.S. Military Academy. (500,000 made)
Commemorative Coin 100th anniversary of Wright Brothers First Flight
Wright Brothers Commemorative Coin

In 2003, there were three coins minted that commemorated the 100th anniversary of Wright Brothers first flight which originated from Kitty Hawk, North Carolina in 1903.
The half dollar coin is 92% copper and 8% nickel, and features Kill Devil Hill (near Kitty Hawk) and the Wright Monument on the obverse, and Orville Wright piloting the 1903 Wright Flyer in it’s first flight with Wilbur Wright on the ground. (750,000 made)
The one dollar silver coin contains 90% silver and 10% copper. The obverse has the left side profiles of both Wright brothers.  An image of the 1903 flyer over Kill Devil Hill is on the reverse. (500,000 made)
The gold ten dollar coin is comprised of 90% gold and 10% alloy. A portrait of Orville and Wilbur Wright graces the obverse of this coin. The reverse has a rendering of a great eagle hovering over the 1903 Wright flyer. (100,000 made)
Written by Angela Sangster, Copyright 2010